Tuesday, September 21

Outstanding Jamaicans to be Honoured on Heroes’ Day 2008

A total of 128 outstanding Jamaicans, who have contributed to nation building, will be recognised at the National Honours and Awards ceremony on National Heroes’ Day, Monday, October 20, on the lawns of King’s House, beginning at 8:30 a.m.

Heading the list of award recipients this year are Professor Abraham Anthony Chin and Professor Edward Robinson, who will be conferred with the Order of Merit (OM), the third highest honour in Jamaica, for their distinguished contribution to the field of Climatology and the fields of Geology, Oceanography, and Environmental Science, respectively.

Meanwhile, six persons will receive the Order of Jamaica (OJ) for their outstanding contribution to Education, Health, Business and Philanthropy, Religion, the Public Service, and the Legal profession.

They are: Professor Barbara Evelyn Bailey, for distinguished contribution to Education and Gender Studies; Professor John Peter Figueroa, for outstanding service in the field of epidemiology and in the development of HIV/AIDS Awareness and Prevention Programme; Ronald Henriques, for service in the legal profession; The Very Reverend Father Richard Ho Lung, OD, for outstanding service to religion and the care of the poor; Michael Lee-Chin, for outstanding service in business and philanthropy, and Danville Walker, for outstanding public service.

Director of Public Prosecutions, Paula Llewellyn, Q.C., heads the 17 persons who will be conferred with the Order of Distinction in the Commander Class (CD). Others include His Worship the Mayor of Kingston, Senator Desmond McKenzie, for outstanding and dedicated service to Local Government; and President of the Mico University College, Dr. Claude Packer, for his service to education and in particular, the teaching of Mathematics.

Thomas ‘Tommy’ Cowan is among 31 persons who will receive the Order of Distinction in the Officer Class (OD). Mr. Cowan is being awarded for his contribution to the Jamaican Music Industry.

For the Badge of Honour for Gallantry (BHG), four awards, one posthumously, will be given for courageous effort in saving or attempting to save the lives of others.

Twenty-five other Jamaicans will receive the Badge of Honour for Meritorious Service, for their contribution to Education, Public Service, Agriculture, the Indigent, Religion, Health, and Tourism.

Fifteen persons will receive the Badge of Honour for Long and Faithful Service, with one being a posthumous award to the late Natalie Grant for her contribution to education.

For the Medal of Honour for Meritorious Service, 28 uniformed personnel will be recognised. These include one officer from the Jamaica Defence Force; nine from the Jamaica Constabulary Force; four from the Island Special Constabulary Force; four from the Department of Correctional Services: and 10 from the Jamaica Fire Brigade.

2008 Honours and Awards List

Source – JIS