Monday, September 20

World Championships Team Announced

The Jamaica Athletic Association as announced the members of the Jamaica team that will take part at the World Championships this year. The World Championships in athletics will be held in Berlin, Germany from August 15-23, 2009. The Jamaica Team will be looking to better their performance at the last World Champs 2 years ago in Osaka Japan. The team finished 8th in the medal table with 10 medals which included 1 gold, 6 silver and 3 bronze.


Female Team Members

Veronica Campbell-Brown, Shelly Ann Fraser, Brigitte Foster-Hylton, Kerron Stewart, SheriAnn Brooks, Shericka Williams, Bobby-gaye Wilkins, Aileen Bailey, Shereefa Lloyd, Simone Facey, Anniesha McLaughlin, Novelene, Williams-Mills, Christine Day, Nickiesha Wilson, Jovanee Jarrett, Trecia Smith, Kimberly Williams, Rosemarie Whyte, Kenia Sinclair, Delloreen Ennis-London, Lacena Golding-Clarke, Melanie Walker and Kaliese Spencer.

Male Team Members

Usain Bolt, Asafa Powell, Isa Phillips, Michael Frater, Maurice Wignall, Steve Mullings, Marvin Anderson, Dwight Thomas, Maurice Smith, Dorian Scott, Dane Hyatt, Jermaine Gonzales, Yohan Blake, Leford Green, Richard Phillips Ricardo Chambers, Allodin Fothergill, Lansford Spence, Danny McFarlane, Josef Robertson, Alain Bailey, Nicholas Gordon and Julian Reid.

Alternates and Reserves

Markino Buckley, Vonette Dixon, Ramone McKenzie, Samantha Henry, Lerone Clarke and Anastasia Le-Roy

The management team will be headed by team leader Trevor Campbell and include head coach Glen Mills, Technical Leader Donald Quarrie and Team Doctor Dr. Winston Dawes among others.

Team list source – JAAA